Up at 6:00 to get breakfast and head out.  we went to the middle school first and were greeted by the children who were waving balloons and saying “hola” to us.  We then had an assembly and they thanked us for everything we were doing.  They sang their national anthem and we sang ours.  They entertained us with song and dance and we did the hokey-pokey.  We then left to visit the elementary school.  They sang their national anthem and we sang the Star Spangled Banner.  We did the hokey-pokey and, believe it or, they did the same in Spanish.  It was slightly different, but…… we really enjoyed that.  Then we dispersed to our various work stations.  Richard, Davis and I went to the middle school to review the computer situation from last year.  We were very impressed that they had taken such good care of the computers.  The children had even made cloth dust covers for the computers.  We checked the gounrding, which was a problem from last year, and indeed, we still have a problem.  We are going to fix that while we are here.  We also checked the computers in the library and found that some setting were causing some problems.  Richard and Davis were able to fix those easily.  I say easily, but it was interesting to do that while looking at a Spanish computer.  🙂  Fortunately, Davis was born in the Dominican Republic and Spanish is actually his first language.  It was, however, different in computer language.  He was able to figure it out and changed the things that needed changing.  While we were there, the computers died, but we realized it was only because 3 of them were not on the UPS.  Apparently, they had disconnected 3 of them because there were too many computers on the circuit.  We made a phone call and they will pick up two more in Jutecalpa while they are bringing Blake McBurney in this afternoon.  This afternoon I went into the village to help there.  Our options were help with sewing, art projects, painting or the village.  I chose the village.  I did see my friend from last year, Christina, who had a little girl that she named Sylvia.  She had some more names, but I can’t remember them.  We were very happy to see each other.  Then I went to work.  Rather than working on a latrine, I opted to help dig a ditch to take grey water away from the houses that were on top of a hill.  The ditch was very long and they had already started them that morning.  We worked side by side with the Hondurans and accomplished a lot.  We will lay the pipe (3 inch PVC) to carry the water to the creek.  Not a great option, but it’s the best we can come up with for now.  It is certainly better than leaving it in the pond they had at the top of the hill that was breeding mosquitos.  Bob, Clark, Richard and I worked on this project in the afternoon and others worked on the latrines  in my group.  I ended up being the only woman in the crowd, but everyone made me feel welcome.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

