Woke up early and had our usual fare of beans, tortillas, eggs,  meat and fruit.  Today was an off day.  Some elected to continue to paint the elementary school.  I understand that they finished everything.  The rest of us went to a little town about 30 minutes away that has two people that do some nice woodworking.  The first fella had a jigsaw with something like a bicycle to power it and he was making crosses.  We went to the second man’s house and he was in a wheelchair.  He powered his jigsaw with his right hand, sort of like the old hand mixer.  They both had a pattern that they attached to a piece of wood, then they cut around the pattern. We left there and went to San Esteban, where they were supposed to have good ice cream.  It is also known for its drug lords, so we were not allowed to wander off.  They love American hostages.  To he honest, it was just another dusty town in my opinion.  We did not stay long, didn’t see any ice cream that we couldn’t live without and headed back home for siesta.

That afternoon, we went back to  Las Delicias because the village was having a festival in our honor.  They brought in dancers from San Esteban to entertain us and they were very good.  They asked some of us to dance with them, which was a lot of fun.   We gave out candy to the kids and some brought cheap little toys that the kids really enjoyed.  We have all been talking about the trash situation in Honduras in general, so I brought a trash bag with me and asked the kids to pick up the trash.  They were so excited to help that we filled it up in no time.  I had started rewarding them with candy, but when I ran out, that didn’t slow them down.  One followed me down the driveway with extra trash.  We took a look at the kilns from past projects.  They are making bricks, roof tiles, chimney rings and chimney caps.  Some of the people in our group worked with the kids at the middle school to make the chimney caps into bird feeders.  I will be bringing a few back with me to sell as a fundraiser, but I think they can be used as a bird bath or butterfly feeder.  We’ll see.  I also looked at the hole that had been dug for the water dispersal holding tank.  I had decided that I wanted to see the beginning as well.  I had been involved in trenching the middle part of the ditch and in digging the hole, so I wanted to see the top of the hill.  Guy, Tamara and I asked the guard if we could leave and he gave us permission.  I think they thought we wanted the bathroom, but we were able to make our little guide understand that we wanted to see the trench.  It became apparent to me what it was.  It was a community septic system for grey water.  There were several homes in the community that had excess water that would run down the hill through other people’s yards and create mosquito havens. Each home will connect into the pipe that will be laid later to carry the water across the road and into the dispersal tank.
I am sad to go, but I am looking forward to the soccer game tomorrow along with the party afterwards.  I hope that Honduras wins or it will be a sad night.  The game is supposed to be in Tegucigalpa where we are headed, so it should be fun.
About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

