We woke up early and had coffee, then breakfast at the Hotel Boqueron. We walked through the village of Jutecalpa, bought some rope to use on the bird feeders we made last year and for use on the feeders they plan to make this year. Then we walked a little further to the center of town and joined Mass at the local cathedral. I think I was the only one that went in. We stayed for about 15 minutes and then walked to the bus. On the way back, Tamara had bought a piece of fruit from a lady that looked like papaya, but which they called sapato. It was very sweet. We got on the bus and made a run to the local grocery store and stocked up on snacks. I bought some premium coffee for everyone in my Rotary Club and got some more of those wonderful pear drinks that I loved so much last year. Then it was off again on the bus. We made another stop along the way for the bathroom, which was interesting and then off again to the ranch. The drive from Jutecalpa was about 2 hours. We were assigned dorms this year since we had such a big group. Cindy and I were able to get beds next to the windows and Debra and Meryl are next to us. We ate lunch immediately and are scheduled for a meeting at 3:00 to find out what projects are available for the week.

We have so many projects this year, but the most extensive will be the school grounds that are being landscaped. As we passed by the school on the way in, we could tell that there would be a lot of manual labor to this project. There were mounds of dirt that will have to be moved and a lot of bare earth. There are a couple of floors that need to be poured and we will be doing some more bird feeders, as well as sewing classes. I spoke about my litter pick-up project and there was a music teaching project, as well. Dinner was the usual beans, chicken, tortillas and a salad of some description that wasn’t bad. I can’t access the internet tonight, but will try again tomorrow. Buenos tardes.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

