We slept in for an additional 20 minutes this morning and noticed that we had rain during the night.  Before we were finished with breakfast, it had begun to rain harder.  We wondered about what the work site would look like.  After taking a look at the mud pit, Richard and I decided to go to the middle school to see whether we had internet or not.  We stopped at the computer lab and then wondered where the items were that we had ordered.  Jose went back to the ranch and picked up our new equipment.  We first worked with the headphones for the little children.  We wanted to plug the headphones into the front of the computer for ease In removal, but none of these were working.  We finally had to give in and plug them into the back of the computers, effectively making it a permanent fixture. We still don’t know why.  Strangely, the computer that was hooked up to the projector would not work with a headphone at all, so we just abandoned that project and put the headphone with another computer.  The new speakers for the projector worked perfectly.  They had brought us two speaker systems and we chose the better of the two with a subwoofer (I think).  It sounded great and when Miladys came back into the room, she said “wow”.  We all laughed.  I hooked up the new computer and it worked perfectly.  We finished about 11:00, so we looked in on the sewing class, the bird feeder project and the audiologists.  The audiologists were doing hearing tests on all the children in the school.  It was fascinating to watch.  They had a wonderful system in place whereby one would check the ears and then they would send them over for a hearing test.  They had two hearing test machines going at once, so they were able to see a bunch of kids in just the first morning.  Apparently, there is a more than normal incidence of hearing loss in Hondurans, so this is a much needed service.  In the afternoon, many went on to dig in the mud, but I knew I didn’t want to work in the mud at the elementary school, so I went to the middle school to watch the audiologists, help with bird feeders, or something other than digging in the mud.  The audiologists finished at the school and headed back to the ranch to work in the clinic.  They had 8 patients to see.  I went on back towards the dorms and ran into David Funderburk, who had stayed behind to do a little bird watching and take some pictures of some flowers.  We saw some beautiful flowering plants and some poinsettias that were 12 feet tall.  Then we noticed a soccer game going on at the ranch, so we walked over to watch that. Gerald Varner joined us and we had some interesting conversation.  I noticed that the vehicles were starting to arrive with the real workers of the afternoon, so I came back to the dorms to get cleaned up for dinner.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

