Another day waking up early for breakfast at 6:20. We left the ranch about 7:40 and went over to the middle school for an assembly. The children from the elementary school were brought over to the assembly for the first time. Usually, only the middle school students are at assembly, but both schools were there today. if you will recall, one of our projects was to landscape the schools. Bob had decided to name the soccer field Vince Dooley Field, so we made a presentation to the school about that. We both sang our respective national anthems and then Meryl sang a song from the movie, Frozen, in Spanish. She doesn’t speak Spanish, but she was able to memorize and sing the heck out of that song. The kids loved it. About 20 of the older students were given trash bags to clean up around the school, while the rest went back to class. We went to the classes and gave out our candy that we had brought. We also made sure that we gave a lot of candy to the children who were picking up litter. We then went to the elementary school to hand out candy and were nearly mobbed. It felt like I was back in India. Then it was off to our respective jobs. I elected to move the gravel (really rocks) that had been piled up along the soccer field into the drainage ditches alongside the field. The plan was to shovel about a 3 foot wide ditch with the “gravel” all around the field. There were 4 piles of rocks. We shoveled and shoveled and shoveled and barely made a dent in it. We did manage to spread gravel along almost the entire length of the field in a matter of 2 hours. It was grueling work. Once the wheelbarrow was full of rocks, I could barely get it started moving. Once I got it moving, it was fine until I had to lift it to pour it out. I realized I could only turn it sideways to dump out the rocks. We left about 11:45 to head back to the ranch for lunch. I think I will mix and pour concrete this afternoon.

This afternoon we went into the small town of Culuco right behind the elementary school and got to the house that they had been working on in the morning and they had worked through lunch. We arrived in time to carry one bucket of concrete into the house. I must say, it looked wonderful, but I was disappointed that I wouldn’t be able to do this work. The view from this house was particularly wonderful. I did take a picture. Also, the kids were a delight. There was one little boy, Alejandro, that was really talkative. He talked to me in Spanish and was showing me all sorts of things and I spoke to him in English. It was pretty funny and everyone was laughing. I took pictures of all of them and they really enjoyed looking at themselves. We walked on down the hill to another worksite and they looked like they were doing just fine, so we walked across the dirt road to look around and found another fabulous view of the mountains. We noticed two sticks in the ground with a stick going across and David Allison (there are a lot of Davids) said that it was a soccer goal. He was apparently right because a game ensued shortly after we arrived. Greg got involved in a game and I have some wonderful videos of them. The girls were also very entertaining with their singing, so I got a few of them, as well. They will sit right next to you and put their hands on you and will give you hugs. They also like to sit in your lap. We were soon called over as the original group needed some help with the porch they were pouring. We stepped in to help and I looked inside the house to see what had already been done. To my surprise a chest type freezer was hanging on a rope from the rafters of the house. It was apparently built around as there was no way you could have gotten it out of the house. It was a mud house and the door was too small to move it out. One thing about these houses, they are not built to specifications. we poured maybe an 8 x 15 porch that afternoon and arrived back at the ranch about 5 minutes before dinner at 6:00. We showered then went into dinner. Cindy and I walked outside to look at the stars and she pointed out several constellations, as well as the Milky Way. I could hardly wait to get my phone to search out some more. Tonight was talent night, though.

David Funderburk started us off with some jokes and some singing. Several got up to sing, which was nothing short of amazing. The vets sang Old McDonald, but with Old Veterinarian in its place. They did a spoof on themselves as each one of them pretended to be an animal that was being seen by the vet. They were really funny. They did some castrations during the week, so they awarded Bob with the golden testacles award and actually gave him some pig testes. We all had great fun with that, but called it a night early. Buenos noches.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

