Arrived at CDG on Friday, Day 1. Picked up bags without any trouble, then headed to the ATM to get cash. Neither of our cards would work, so we decided to at least get our museum pass. My BF, Bobby, had gotten a message from Janick, who rented us an apartment, that she would not be there, but her maid would meet us. While we were looking for an ATM that would work, she called him. I didn’t know that he had stopped to take her call, so I continued to push the trolley and look for another ATM. I realized that he was not behind me and was nowhere in sight. I went to an information desk and asked them to page him. No results. I remembered that he had packed his trumpet and searched his luggage to find it. I didn’t realize how hard it was to blow that thing, but I did. I was Ina pretty open area and blew it off and on for about 30 minutes. Then I decided to get a taxi and just go on to the apartment. I met a neighbor there, who didn’t speak any English and somehow told her that I had lost Bobby. We got all the bags up to the 6th floor apartment and then went to a shop to buy what I thought would be a SIM card to call him. It was a number that you input unto your phone to dial in the country. We could NOT make it work. Finally, she remembered that a neighbor spoke English. They were so nice and walked me to a phone store and I got a SIM card that actually worked!!! I called Bobby and he was on his way to the apartment. We reunited and went out to eat. Then we came home and went to bed. Both of us slept like we had died.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

