Boy, do I feel better today. Woke up early and had a couple of cups of tea. Could not find any decent coffee in the apartment, so we went out to get baguettes. We went around the corner and picked up some pastries at the local patisserie and actually think we picked up someone else’s order. We stopped off at the local tobacco shop and had a cup of coffee and bought a carne of metro/bus tickets. We came back to the apartment and ate our pastries, then off to the Tour Eiffel. We took the metro because we weren’t up to figuring out the bus system and when we walked up from the underground metro, we were greeted by the Tour Eiffel. Although I’ve seen it several times, I was still awed by it’s sheer majesty. I can’t even imagine how Bobby felt. We walked 2-3 blocks to get to it and the crowds were astounding. What a difference from where we were in the 17th arrondissement. We were amazed at the lines to go up the tower. We decided to do the boat ride on the Seine, so purchased tickets and did the one hour tour. it was a perfect day for a boat ride, but I must admit that it was hard to see some of the buildings because of the tree lined boulevards. We arrived back at the tower in time for lunch, so we walked a good ways North of the tower and had lunch at a pizza place. The pizza and rose wine was very good. We then looked around for the bus stop that we had hoped to find and, voila, there is was. We walked over to it and within 30 seconds, the bus 69 appeared. This bus is supposed to be a “tour” bus — a regular bus, but going through the tourist portions of the city. I felt pretty good about navigating the bus system, since I had never attempted it before in Paris. We drove through the St. Germaine de Pres area, across the Seine and beside the Louvre. We stopped off and walked over to the Notre Dame Cathedral. Again, tons of people there. We walked a little in the Ile de Cite area, then back on the Metro for the ride home. We hopped on the Metro at the Hotel de Ville (City Hall). The Metro was a maize, but I suppose it would be in the first arrondissement. We walked forever underground towards the right Metro line to get home. I was shocked that I actually remembered the right line to take from that morning. I’m still trying to convince Bobby that I can sometimes have a pretty good sense of direction. We finally made it home and stopped by the optometrist shop to pick up some reading glasses and then a trip through the market area. We picked up a very good bottle of pinot noir at a wine shop and brought it home. We chilled it slightly, then enjoyed a couple of glasses before going out again. We decided it was past time to go to the grocery store, so we ventured out after checking out the neighborhood via online applications. We went by a couple of stores and picked up some items, then happened upon the jackpot of grocery stores. We picked up several items and brought them back to the apartment, then we had another glass of wine and ventured out again for dinner. Our host, Janick, had recommended several restaurants, so we decided to head North and see what that area was like. We went to the Grand Bistro and were not impressed. $110 for 3 appetizers, main course and one dessert. Oh well. We’ve decided we’re doing the market scene tomorrow night and maybe even taking sandwiches for a picnic. The weather is spectacular — nice sunny days and cool nights. I suppose I’ll check out how to get tickets to the Tour Eiffel without standing in line. We may have to just forget that one, though. Neither of us wants to stand in line for 2 hours.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

