Slept well again, so well in fact, that I slept until nearly 9:30AM.  Today, we had planned to visit Eglise de St. Sulpice and hear the acclaimed organist.  We rushed to get ready because the organ concert was to begin at 11:30AM.  I got ready first and went down to our favorite boulangerie to pick up a  baguette, but the line was a mile long, so I walked back to the apartment.  We were able to get out about 10:45 and made it just about 11:30.  Fortunately, the service was still going on, we took communion and the priest did the benediction and the fabulous organist took over for about a 30 minute concert.  The service was beautiful, even in French.  I would catch a word or two and could sort of make out what he was saying.  The concert was amazing, particularly when we moved more to the center of the Church where the sound was better.  After the concert we looked around the beautiful Church and lit a candle for our 2 friends that were married yesterday.

We decided we had better eat before we went into the Luxembourg Gardens, so we wandered around until we found this cute little creperie called Creperie Du Clown and really enjoyed eating crepes and drinking wine before visiting the park.  We walked over to the park and saw pony rides, chess playing, tennis, basketball, people reading books, toy sailboats and lovers.  We also listened to a good jazz ensemble and just sat around the park for awhile taking in the sun and the people.  The park was beautiful with it’s giant palm trees in planters.  We decided to visit the Odeon Theater, which we knew was in the area.  I had remembered that there was something about it that I liked and once we came around from behind it, then I knew what it was.  A giant classical style building in a small square with tables and chairs.  It reminded me of the Pantheon in Rome, except there was no fountain to sit around and eat gelato.  We decided we were pretty tired and headed home via the Metro.  We walked down Rue Germaine des Pres and found the Metro station and navigated through the underground system of Paris.  It is amazing that there are so many levels of trains with huge buildings on top.  We planned that we would go to the wine store, pick up something at the open air market and then cook and eat in.  We were disappointed when we realized the market had closed early on Sunday and the wine store was also closed.  We walked back home the long way and found a couple of little shops and bought a Bordeaux (cheap here) and some Hagen Daas.  Fortunately, the boulangerie that we liked so much was open and only a short line awaited us.  We looked through the case of wonderful little food ittems and settled on something I had not heard of before — fougasse.  I looked it up in the dictionary and now I know what it is.  We also picked up a traditional baguette, meaning that the government has dictated a recipe, and walked home to our apartment.  We are eating the baguette with a buttery cheese on it, along with the bordeaux, which is pretty good, as I write this.  We will heat up and eat the fougasse later, then eat the Hagen Daas even later.  After all, it is vacation!  I hope the freezer actually works.  We’re planning our trip to Giverny tomorrow, where Monet lived, worked, played and died.  I think it shouldn’t be too hard to get there by Metro, train and the bus.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

