This will be my 4th mission trip to Honduras with the Wilderness Team, which is a group of business people with no religious motives — just humanitarian. We comes from Georgia, New York, Chicago, Missouri and maybe a few other places, but the core comes from Atlanta, Georgia. Many have come for 2 decades. The team must always take a medical team to watch over members and see patients in the clinic. Each person donates to HOI, Inc., a non-profit organization, in order to go and must find and pay for their own transportation to and from Tegucigalpa, Honduras. The money goes for accommodations and supplies for the projects in the Agalta Valley. The first year I went on the trip, The rotary Foundation had given a grant of $50,000 to finance a computer lab and educational supplies for the Esperanza School in the Agalta Valley. This grant was the main reason that I went the first year. My goal this year is to help where I can and to check on the computer project.

I arrived at Atlanta airport early for a mid-morning flight.  Took off a little late, but arrived at high noon in the second most dangerous airport in the world – Tegucigalpa.  Customs was slow as usual, but then we were further delayed because of medications some of our team brought for the clinic.  We finally left at 3:00. We arrived too late at the Mennonite bakery to get a snack, but a couple of us ventured out in the neighborhood behind the bakery, since it looked like they had built a church. They had, but it was still under some construction. The door was a beautiful mahogany and the pews were in place. We arrived at the hotel much after dark, ate dinner, took a shower and went to bed.  We discussed going out and dancing, but decided not.  It was a long, long day. The group was happy to see each other once again and we bonded quickly.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

