We woke up early today to begin the last of our drive to Rancho Paraiso, where we would be staying for the rest of the week.  We ate a huge breakfast, then met in the parking lot of the hotel.  We walked through the town of Jutecalpa towards the city center, passing families going to Church.  We arrived in the city center where the town had continued their transformation of the park area.  We enjoyed a portion of the Mass, then boarded the buses for the trip to the market.  Most of us bought coffee, but this time I also bought some baby bananas that I enjoyed on the bus.  We mostly had been driving on paved roads, but the Corridor of Death was almost all dirt roads.  We drove for the 2 hours that it took to get to the Ranch and were greeted with lunch.  We unpacked and then came back for a 3:00 meeting to determine what our projects would be.  We will be pouring footings for the pedestrian bridge that I am sure I heard would be 8x8x10 feet deep — 4 of them. We also will be painting, pouring concrete for a driveway, pouring footing for bleachers for the soccer field and there are 11 floors in houses that need to be poured.  We have a lot of people this year, but it seems awfully ambitious to me.  Vince and Barbara Dooley are coming in tomorrow and the President and First Lady of Honduras are expected to arrive on Thursday for the dedication of Dooley Field.  The president of MAP International will be delivering the $5 billionth of prescription medications to Honduras.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

