This will be my 6th trip to Honduras and my 5th mission trip to Honduras.  I travel with a group of business people from Atlanta, as well as a few others from other states.  This year Georgia, Virginia, New York, Texas, Missouri, Panama and maybe a couple of other states were represented.  We are hosted by HOI in the Agalta Valley in the state of Olancho in Honduras.  We stay on their ranch called Rancho Paraiso in bunk houses and we go out each day to work on various projects.  The reason I originally started going was for a Rotary grant.  Rotary International had made a grant to the Atlanta Rotary Club to install computers in a school in Honduras.  I heard about this and decided I wanted to go.  I know how to turn on a computer and use programs on the computer and can plug them in and attach all the cables necessary.  In other words, I know enough to be dangerous.  That first year was such a wonderful experience, that I have returned each year to see the progress that is being made in this community.  HOI hosts about 50 teams a year on their ranch, but they tell us our team is different from all the rest.  We are not there as a religious mission team and are not affiliated with a particular church, which is different from the average mission team hosted by HOI and the ranch.  We call ourselves The Wilderness Team and for the past 5 years, we have also had a veterinarian team of about 10 that also go with us the same week.  We always have a doctor with us, which I believe is actually a requirement for each team.  We are told that we are to give a “hand up” and not a “hand out” to the Hondurans and we believe that this makes a difference.  Last year our major project was a pedestrian bridge spanning the road between the middle school and the elementary school.  This year our major project was water filtration.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

