I decided to work at the middle school once again. The men that worked at the elementary school told me that I had made the right decision the day before because each said that they had fallen 4-5 times that first day.  I believe they all decided not to work over there the next day.  I again worked on the counseling center and came to find out that we had to dig out the backfill that we had done the previous day, so that they could lay a form.  We dug this out while the Hondurans made the form.  I tied rebar together that would strengthen the solid concrete that would be poured into the form on top of the 2 levels of concrete block.  Then we dug some more dirt to hold up the forms for the pour.  I helped mix some concrete for the form the rest of the morning.  I was treated as an equal by the Hondurans as well as the Americans on this project.  As a woman, sometimes we are not given credit enough to do manual labor, but this was not the case this year.  Again, we broke for lunch at 11:30AM and headed back to the Ranch for lunch. During the morning, some people helped take the filtration units and place them in the homes of the people in Coluco.  They felt it was a wonderful experience and talked through lunch about their experiences going into the homes on the Hondurans and what this meant to them.  That afternoon I was asked to help assemble more stands, so we were taken to San Carlos where we were met by a large group of Hondurans.  Again, since we only had the 6 drills, we started 3 stations and very quickly assembled 50 or so stands.  Again, the ladies helped assemble and paint.  In my group we had 2 Honduran gentlemen pre-drilling and driving the screws in and an elderly woman assisting by holding the wood pieces together.  We assembled the stands in the community center and it went very fast.  We broke again about 5:00 and went back to the ranch to get cleaned up for dinner.

 

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

