We again woke up early and went back to the middle school to work. There didn’t seem to be any need for an extra hand at the counseling center, so I worked on the assembly area extension. We moved a couple of plants that would be in the way and then dug some very deep trenches for the footing.  I used a tool to break up some dirt and even out the edges of the trench.  I also dug dirt out of the trench.  Again, we worked all morning at this, broke for lunch and then decided what we wanted to do for the afternoon.  Some went into town and others decided to work.  I was asked to help assemble stands for Los Delicios.  We loaded up the van for the drive to Los Delicios and when we arrived at the little school there, there were no Hondurans there to meet us.  The little children were still in school, but were being let out for the afternoon.  We began to unload the wood pieces for assembly and the Hondurans came out in droves.  We ended up with about 6 assembly stations which was a little hectic, but even though you wasted a lot of time waiting on a drill, it actually went very fast and we assembled almost 50 stands that day and, again, the ladies painted them.  I had two young boys and another American on my team.  At first the boys had trouble working together, as there was one that was better with the drill and driver than the other, but once it was explained to them that they had to share, it worked very well and both got the experience of using a power tool to make the assembly go quicker.  I noticed that once a Honduran boy had a power tool in his hand, he was reluctant to let it go, but with a little scolding, they finally learned to share.  It was an uplifting experience for me.  Again, the Honduran ladies painted the stands.  We left the stands to dry overnight and went back to the ranch a little earlier and found that the ones that had elected to go into town had a flat tire on the way, so they had to change the tire.  That night we ate dinner and were treated to “Talent Night”, which has become an annual tradition.  Barbara Dooley had been put in charge of talent night.  Bob Hope had brought a Karaoke machine, which we used for music and a mike.  The two young people, Max and Natasha, from New York did a couple of songs and Daryl Salerno, also from NYC, did a great comedy act.  David Funderburk also did a great comedy act and a song.  Several others sang and were all actually very good.  David Moody announced each act and did an outstanding job.  The night was finished off with a poem about the week from Barbara Dooley, then she and Vince sang “I Just Called to Say I Love You”, which was very touching, as it was their anniversary.  56???? I can’t remember, but something like that.  We continued to talk about that night for the next couple of days, as it was so much fun.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

