Again, we woke very early and had breakfast. Several of us decided to deliver the water filtration units in Los Delicios.  This was great for me as I had only participated in the assembly of the stands and had not been able to actually install the water filtration units in the homes.  We drove to Los Delicios and were greeted by the Hondurans receiving the units.  We assembled the 5-gallon buckets, which entailed putting spickets on one bucket, then a lid with a hole in the top.  This bucket would receive the filtered water and was to be set on the shelf in the middle of the stand.  The second bucket had a hole in the bottom that we installed a coupling in.  We put soap, the filtration unit and a cleaning syringe in this bucket.  Jorje with the HOI staff explained to the Hondurans how to use the unit, how to clean it and explained about using the soap to clean the buckets, their hands and how to use the syringe to backwash the filter after each use.  It would take 45 minutes to filter 5 gallons of water.  Each family was called out and given a unit, which included the two 5-gallon buckets and a stand.  We then divided into 4 groups to go with the Hondurans to their homes to install the units.  This entailed setting the bottom bucket to receive the filtered water on the bottom shelf (in the middle of the stand) and then screwing in the filter on the top bucket and setting it on the top shelf of the stand with the filter over the hole in the top of the bottom bucket.  This took about 30 seconds and each Honduran was very grateful.  We walked all through the village helping to install these units and it only took about 45 minutes.  I was sorry that I had not seen my friend, Maria Christina, that I had met the very first year on this trip.  I assumed she had left town as her husband had left her with a newborn and 3 other children to fend for herself.  He and another woman had left for America together.  I had found this out the second year I had gone back to Honduras.  As I was walking to the van to go leave, I saw her standing on the side of the road talking to some Americans.  She and I recognized each other immediately and hugged and hugged.  She had a little baby boy in her arms and I never found out if it was hers or someone else’s.  I did see a smiling little girl that I assumed was the child she was carrying 4 years ago when I first helped install her latrine and when I asked if it was Sylvia, she confirmed it.  I was so glad to see her, so I held out my arms and she ran into them.  I picked her up and hugged and hugged her.  As a baby, she was scared of me and got teary as I held her in my arms.  As a toddler, she stared at me when I held her in my arms and wanted to get my sunglasses off my face.  I think I also may have had a necklace on that she was fascinated with.  We did not go to this village last year, so I missed her, and was surprised she had grown so much.  It was a wonderful end to our visit to this village.  We left Los Delicios and went to the middle school for an assembly.  Cindy and I met with the computer teacher to see how the computers were and if she needed anything.  She said she had given a list to HOI.  I got the ranch manager’s email address and will be asking for that list this week.  Each year we end our week with an assembly at the school.  The children sang their national anthem and they ask us each year not to clap as this is not their tradition.  We sang ours and clapped and hooted for ourselves.  I am always struck by this and it seems so uniquely American that we would do this.  Just one more sign of the differences between the two cultures.  We were entertained once again by Max and Natasha.  We also witnessed the presentation of two scholarships to a boy and a girl in the name of Susan and Bob Hope, so that they could go on to high school.  In the Agalta Valley, these kids leave home to attend a high school as there is no high school close by.  In the case of the girl who received the scholarship, she had to leave her home to attend middle school, as there was no school where she lived.  She told us that she only saw her family once every 3-4 months, which seemed very sad to us, but she was very grateful for the opportunity to go to high school, as her parents would never be able to afford to send her.  She also sang two songs for us.  There were a couple of short speeches and one long one that morning, then we broke to give out candy and watch a power point presentation that the computer class had put together just for us.  It was nice to be in air conditioning again, even if only for a little while.  I saw the young teacher, Jesslar, that was the first computer teacher and with his slow English told me that he was married and had an 18-month old child.  He also introduced me to his brother and I took their picture.  I had given him a picture of him and me the second year I was there and he told me that it was framed and in his house.  I was really honored.  Again, we broke for lunch about the same time and most of us went back to the ranch for the rest of the day to relax before our long trip the next morning back to the city.  A very few went back to the middle school to shovel dirt to level out the floor in the counseling center.  I had strained my back when I picked up Sylvia (believe it or not), so I elected not to shovel anymore dirt.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

