We woke up a little earlier than usual to get our bags out to load up for the trip back to Tegucigalpa. We ate an early breakfast, then met outside for a devotional and a few songs.  They thanked us and we thanked them for taking such good care of us, then we loaded up the bus for the 7-hour trip back to the city.  We made a bathroom stop and a lunch stop and arrived in the city at 3:00PM.  As usual, traffic was awful and we are always amazed at the way the bus gets through the city.  We arrived at our hotel, got cleaned up and met at the outside bar for a little fellowship.  Some of us then left the hotel to get dinner in a restaurant.  The restaurant was closed, so we walked a little further without success, then came back to the hotel and had dinner, which turned out not to be too bad.  The Rotarians were invited back up to the bar to meet with some local Rotarians.  I was excited to meet Sebastian on the way to the bar, who told me he had been a GRSP student 2 years ago.  I remembered him and he told me he had been sponsored by the Brookhaven Rotary Club and attended Oglethorpe.  That was very exciting for me!!  I think next year that if we get another Honduran student that I will ask them to meet us at the hotel.  We met in the bar again and one Rotarian was very fluent in English and we really enjoyed talking to him.  He will be coming to Atlanta in 2017 for the International Convention.  We also met a young Rotarian and his wife, both of which had attended school in the US.  I believe he had gone to Florida State and she had gone to Georgia Tech.  Obviously, they were very fluent and we enjoyed talking with them.  We finally said our good byes about 11:00PM and some of us wet back to our rooms and others went out on the town.  I chose to go back to my room, but I heard they stayed out until 1:30AM.  Not me!!!  We woke up early again, had breakfast in the hotel and then some of us went shopping across the street.  We then met in the lobby about 9:30AM to load up our bags and the bus for the ride to the airport.  When we arrived, the lines were long and we wondered if we would make our 1:00PM flight.  We did, but with not much time to spare.  Lines were long to check in and security, as usual, was very intense.  Our passports were checked several times and our carry-on bags were gone through thoroughly.  Winds were strong and they had to readjust the bags on the plane to be sure it was balanced enough for a good take-off.  Tegucigalpa is one of the top 10 most dangerous airports in the world and they wanted to be sure that we could take-off in high headwinds and clear the mountains that surround the airport.  Fortunately for us, we did and arrived in Atlanta nearly on time.  Some of our bags were delayed, but we waited long enough to find them.  I know I missed some people for a final hug, but we did get some hugs from those that were still there as we were leaving.  Each year we say it is the best year yet and this year was no exception.  Renewing friendships with the Americans who go and getting to know new friends is definitely a highlight for me, not even considering the fact that we meet some wonderful Hondurans.  We all have similar values in actually making the effort to help others.  We had laughed while in Honduras with some of the Hondurans when we told them we paid money to come work like slaves.  🙂

 

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

One response »

  1. Margaret long says:

    Hi, Lynn! Thanks for keeping me in the loop regarding your trip. It is always interesting to follow your blog. Hope your “boo-boos” are healing nicely😀
    Margaret Long

Leave a Reply

