We slept in today, since we had such a full day yesterday and our plan was to have a quiet day.  Anything but!!!!  We woke up about 9:30AM, had breakfast on the patio, then walked to La Pedrera (otherwise known as Casa Mila) and bought tickets.  We had forgotten our reduced tickets, so we waited in line, but only waited about 15 minutes.   We went up the elevator to the roof, which sounds boring, but it was fabulous.  I could have stayed there for hours.  Gaudi now is such a brilliant architect, but I can’t imagine what they thought in the 1920’s.  He used chains and sand bags hanging from a ceiling, then put a mirror below to visualize the end effect.  Brilliant!!!  We then walked through the attic and again were amazed.  It has been turned into a sort of museum for Gaudi’s works and the arches in the attic are all different.  He even designed furniture that can be found in the attic.  It was hard to sell an apartment in those days because people did not know how to furnish the oddly shaped rooms, so Gaudi even designed furniture for the homes.  It was all ergonomic (believe it or not).  We then moved down another floor to see what an apartment would have looked like then.  The railings on the terraces were amazing and designed for beauty and utility.  The views were pretty good, although you also saw the normalcy of Barcelona with air conditioners, etc..

We then went to an art exhibit inside La Pedrera from Toni Catany that was actually pretty good.  It was getting close to 3:00, so we decided it was time for lunch.  Ha!!

We had been told not to eat on Las Ramblas, so we checked out Trip Advisor to find a good place to eat and then we headed towards that restaurant.  When we arrived at the restaurant, we found that everyone else had the same idea, so we continued down the street to find another restaurant.  We found a cute place in a pedestrian area between two streets called Cafe & Tapas.  We ordered cocktails and food.  We each tried a different dish and everyone was happy.

We walked on back toward Passeig De Gracia (a well known street in Barcelona) to purchase tickets for Casa Lleo i Morera.  It was a beautifully designed home right on Passeig De Gracia that had the most wonderful stained glass windows and fabulous ceilings, floors and walls.  The floor tiles were made so that the design went all the way through the tile, so that even if it was scraped, it would remain the same.  We only visited the first floor because the rest of the building was being leased to businesses, but they certainly had the same stained glass windows on one side of the building.  I would post pictures, but they would not do it justice.

While inside, we saw what looked like a parade coming down the street, so we rushed out to see and found that it was actually a demonstration.  We think it was something about privatizing education, but we never were sure.  It was peaceful and the police had blocked the streets for the demonstration.  Traffic was miserable a street over, but we planned our walking so well that we missed quite a bit of that.

We walked back towards the apartment and stopped at a cute little cafe for more drinks.  I did forget to tell you that we have discovered Cava, which is a sparkling wine.  We also love the Mojitos here as they put plenty of mint leaves and lime in it.  For their Spritz, they use the Aperol and Cava, but they also add soda water.  I have asked for it without soda water and it is very good.  I learned about that in Italy several years ago and still enjoy a Spritz every once in awhile.  We seem to have fit right in with the locals as we eat breakfast late, lunch late and have a very small dinner, if any at all.  I think we ate dinner last night about 8:30PM.  It is 9:30PM now and I am drinking Cava in the apartment and eating potato chips (which I never eat at home).  If I forgot to tell you, I am here with my two children and their spouses and my grandchild, who has turned out to be a real trooper.

Tomorrow is going to be a beautiful day, so we may just take a day for the beach.  We are using Google maps to find things and it is working well.  I did purchase the AT&T Passport, but I used nearly  all of my data the first day.  I would recommend buying the package that includes unlimited data, so that you won’t worry about it.   I am changing that today, I think.  One more thing.  For those of you who have older children, I highly recommend that you use all of your retirement to travel with them.  It is such a blast.

More tomorrow.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

