Today really was a lazy day.  I was awakened by what I thought were a couple of my children leaving the apartment for some breakfast food.  Not!!!!  So, I made coffee and posted my blogs from the last couple of days, since we had come in so late these past days.  It was obvious they were tired, so I stayed in and answered emails, etc., but around lunchtime, I got a little antsy and hungry, so my son, Justin, and I went out for lunch.  We found the most fabulous place called Casa Lollea, not too far from the apartment.  We ordered tapas and found that it was the best food we had on the trip.  It wasn’t cheap, but it was worth it.  I had a sangria that was pretty dry and very good.  We finished with a nice dessert called Pa amb oli I xocolata.  It was to die for.

The others had finally gotten their showers, so we met them at an outdoor restaurant and had a beer called Clara, which is beer and lemonade.  We went to the grocery store and then walked back to the apartment and again, they wanted to stay in, so I decided to leave and just walk.

As I walked, I saw signs for the Barcelona Cathedral, so I decided to just go there by myself.  I was able to get in easily and enjoy the cathedral at leisure.  As European Cathedrals go, it was typically beautiful.  It was very quiet, as usual.  I went up the elevator to the top, which I highly recommend for anyone.  As you enter from the main entrance, be sure to go to the right to the Cloister where the geese are and bring something to feed them.  I didn’t have anything, but an energy bar with seeds and granola.  There was a little girl there, so I shared the bar with her and she fed the geese.  There was a beautiful fountain and palm trees there as well.  I walked outside of the Cloister and around to the front of the cathedral to find my way back.  I remembered some of it and the signs were good, but I couldn’t quite remember the little streets from the apartment.  Fortunately, I was able to get wi-fi and got directions back, which were perfect.  Once back at the apartment, my daughter told me I could download a map that I could use and taught me how to use it without using data.  The plan tonight is to walk and find little bars along the way to a pizza place, then walk to the fountains at Montjuic.

Well, as plans usually go, we changed our minds.  We decided to ride the Metro to Montjuic and go to a restaurant over there that Justin had found.  We recommend Portonovo Silvestre near Espanya.  We ordered several different items and no one was disappointed.  We stayed later than we had intended, so we just walked straight to the magic fountain.  And guess what.  It will not be happening until Thursday night.  There was a crowd at the other end of the park area, so we walked over there and, as it turns out, there was a pretty good modern dance show over there with some interesting music.  We watched for quite a while, then Heather bought Shannon a little toy that would light up and that you could shoot into the air.  Kevin and Justin had great fun with it, trying to see who could shoot it the farthest, then who could catch it when it came down.  Shannon finally got to play with it after they tired of it.  It seemed that the show would continue late into the night, so we walked back to the Metro station.  Everyone had lots of energy that they tried to burn off before heading up the stairs to our apartment.  There was some maintenance going on with the tracks, so we waited for what seemed like a long time, but the train finally came and we ended that part of our day.  It is now 11:30PM and time to prepare for the next day.

I have real

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

