Everyone woke up very late this morning. My kids were going to a music festival today, so it was me and Shannon, my 11 year old grandchild, spending the day together. After some prodding, I was finally able to get her up and out the door around noon. We boarded the Metro at Tetuan and made a circuitous route to the L-7 line, which was a totally different experience from the regular metro trains. It was very nice and not overcrowded. It sits on a track like a regular train, waiting for a particular time to leave. We made our way to Av Tibidabo and realized that the regular tram was not working, but with my 15 words of Spanish, I was able to determine that we had to take the 196 bus to Tibidabo, so we boarded the bus and it took us straight to the funicular.

We rode the funicular up the mountain and got off at the park there. We bought Shannon some pink cotton candy and decided to ride the ferris wheel first. It was a very old-timey ferris wheel that would probably be too dangerous in the US, as it was completely open and I could see that it would be easy to fall out of, if you tried hard enough. The view was spectacular!  Shannon also wanted to ride the airplane that was WW II Vintage and went around in a circle. My recent flying experience made me realize how realistic the sound effects were. It was actually better than it looked from the ground. We wandered around a bit trying to figure out how to to get to the 2nd level – without success. Each pass was blocked for construction and we got the impression that it might just not be open for the summer yet.

We did go to the very top of the church there, which is the highest point in Barcelona. The views were indescribable and the walk up some narrow spiral steps was actually a bit frightening as well. It was very cold and windy at the top, but I’m glad we did this. We had our sweaters, so it was fine.

We stopped for lunch at a restaurant on top and it was interesting ordering from a machine – no, not a vending machine, but an ordering machine with pictures of the foods under the various categories. I was nervous about what the food would taste like, but it was actually very good and the vino tinto that I had was very good. We walked around the park a good bit, rode the ferris wheel again, then about 5:00 decided it was time to head back. We got back on the funicular, which actually more fun going down than coming up. We walked the few feet to the bus stop and waited for quite a long time for the bus. We had decided to walk up the hill to hail a cab, when the bus finally arrived. We were able to get a seat and actually re-emerged where we were supposed to get off. We walked around the John F. Kennedy (no kidding) circle and found the L-7 line. We waited for about 3 minutes and then we were on our way.

We decided to get off at the Catalunya stop and just walk, which was fun for me, but probably a bit much for Shannon. We had to stop a few times to make sure we were going in the right direction, but we went straight back. I did want to stop for a little libation, but Shannon wanted pizza or nothing except getting back home. We did find a cute pizza place, Rimini! Just a block or so from the house, but they weren’t ready to start cooking yet. We compromised (not really – I got my way) and we stopped at an outdoor cafe and I ordered a mojito. Shannon wanted nothing, so I had my Mojito and she looked at her phone. We finally left and headed back to the pizza place and they were ready for us. I ordered a Sangria and salad and Shannon ordered a coke and a marghuerita pizza big enough for 2. The salad was delicious and the Sangria was dry, which I liked. Shannon devoured the pizza and coke and I ate a piece or two and the rest of her crust. The waiter was from Italy, so we enjoyed talking about Umbria and the Tuscany area.  The restaurant had only been open 3 months and he was not crazy about living in Barcelona.  I think he will go home at some point.  Afterward they brought me a limoncello on the house, which was very good. We left a lot happier than when we arrived and made the very short walk back home. We took showers and have fallen into bed.  We don’t expect my kids back until 4:00 this morning. They will want to sleep in tomorrow and Shannon will want to be with her mom. I will have to think of what I want to do tomorrow. I have a few thoughts in mind, but will share those tomorrow. It is 10:30 here and I am really tired. I’ll plan my adventure tomorrow.

Buenos noches, my friends.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

