My 12 year old granddaughter, Shannon, told me while we were in Barcelona that she really wanted to go to London.  I told her then that we would, but I had no idea that it would be so soon.  So here we are.  With the Brexit vote and good airline prices, we planned it for her fall break.  We booked on Virgin Atlantic and it couldn’t have been nicer.  They left on time, the service was great and we landed on time.  Our bags came right out.  Fortunately, though, we had thought ahead and gotten documents from Shannon’s parents.  Although they did not ask for them leaving Atlanta, they did ask for them when we arrived at Heathrow.  We got a little cash from the ATM machine and bought Oyster Passes for the buses and underground.  We rode the Picadilly Line to the Leicester Square stop, which took about 30 minutes, then we used Google Maps to get us to our flat, which took about 3 minutes.  The maid had not arrived, so our host told us to get some lunch, which we did.  There were dozens of restaurants on our street, so we picked one and ate outside.  The street was very busy with shoppers and was only a pedestrian street, which was nice.  We really lucked out getting a flat on a very nice street with enough restaurants that it would not be hard to feed my granddaughter, who has a very limited palate.  

After lunch we dropped our suitcases at the flat and took off to explore.  We decided we’d go to the British Museum and see the Rosetta Stone and some Egyptian mummies.  I had never seen a mummy before and, of course, my granddaughter had not either.  I must say that the British have done a wonderful job preserving Egyptian heritage.  The exhibit was amazing and I highly recommend it to anyone.  Although not as large as the Louvre, it would be hard to see everything in one day.  Entrance was free, but they asked for a 5 pound donation.  We spend a couple of hours in there and both of us were really impressed.  We walked back to our flat and rested for awhile, then headed out for dinner.  We had dinner at the SpaghettiHouse just a couple of blocks away and really enjoyed our dinner.  I had something called Spaghetti All’Americiana, a type of spaghetti from Amatrice, the town struck by an earthquake on 8/24/2016.  They would donate 2 pounds for every dish they served in September.  Tomato sauce, pancetta bacon, sautéed  onions, garlic and crushed chili with spaghetti.  DELICIOUS!!!!  And a Spritz, as well.

We will walk around for awhile and then go back to the flat, so we can be ready for our adventure tomorrow.  I have already reserved a Hailo Cab to pick us up tomorrow at 9:00AM.

Shannon is making a short movie of our adventures each day and will be posting them on YouTube.  I will give you the address as she posts them.  

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

