Not sure what happened to my Monday post, so I’ll try to remember everything we did.  Maybe it will turn up later.  It was a big day for us.  We planned to see the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace, but unfortunately, my alarm did not go off, so we ended up getting a late start.  We walked to the Palace and fortunately saw the horse guards coming down the road.  We were able to keep pace with them and went to the left of the castle.  There were lots of people there, so Shannon did not see anything but the backs of people.  I had brought my selfie-stick, so I was able to at least film it.  I will show it to her later.  

Our original plan was to see the Queen’s Gallery before the changing of the guard, so we walked around to get to that, but the line was so long, that we decided to skip it.  We walked further and decided we’d go ahead and eat lunch.  We stopped at a very cute cafe and enjoyed lunch, then headed off to Westminster Abbey.  We toured the Cathedral and really enjoyed that, but I think Shannon was most impressed with Big Ben.  She took tons of pictures of Big Ben.  

We decided to not do Parliament that day and just cross the river to pick up tickets ahead of time for the London Eye.  I had read that you had to buy your tickets ahead and then come back at an appointed time.  It turned out that we must have just timed it right, as we waited in the ticket line for about 10 minutes and bought our tickets to board the London Eye.  We waited another 5 minutes, then got on with about 8- 9 other people.  I am not sure, but I think we got on before the “fast track” people.  It was great!!!!!  Shannon really enjoyed that as well.  I did, too.  We were so enthralled with the ferris wheel and seeing the city from so high, that we forgot to look at the little map that I had bought to show us what we were looking at.  We did see a landmark for where our flat was and I was able to point that out.  We got off the London Eye and walked back towards home.  

We ended up accidentally walking past Downing Street, so we made a stop there.  Many years ago when I was walking through London with a friend, we accidentally walked past Number 10 Downing Street.  No guards or anything outside and it was sort of strange to just happen upon it.  As we were walking towards home, we noticed some black gates where there were armed guards (different for London), so I realized where we were this time.  We crossed the street and asked why the gates were closed.  We were told that after a bombing in 1989, the street was always closed.  I had forgotten and realized what a difference 25 years makes in the world we live in now.  Terrorism was unheard of in the 80’s.

In any event, we headed on home after a picture with the guards.  While we were relaxing at our flat, Shannon discovered that there would be a world premiere of Deep Water Horizon just around the corner from us at Leicester Square.  We quickly put our shoes back on and nearly ran to the theatre.  She was able to get a good spot on the railing and I just stood behind her watching her bag.  She was able to get good pictures of Kate Hudson and Mark Wahlberg.  Mark Wahlberg was really great with the crowd and took selfies and signed autographs for people.  It was crazy, but I finally sort of got into it when I also found a spot right next to her on the railing.  Shannon talked with some teenage girls and I realized that who they were really waiting for was someone named Dylan O’Brien, who was also in the movie.  He did not show up, but it was still fun just the same.  Shannon was on Cloud 9 the rest of the night!!!  We calmed down enough, though, to decide we needed to eat dinner, so we again decided to just walk to find somewhere to eat.  We came across a steakhouse that served their steaks on a hot stone.  It would be kept warm on the hot stone, while you sliced it and ate it.  It was AWESOME!!!!!  We headed home to prepare for an early morning on Tuesday.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

