We stayed in a little later this morning because we woke up to a little drizzle.  We were going to watch the horse guards, but then just decided to head on out to the Natural History Museum.  We stopped off to talk to some guards at the St. James Palace and one of the guards was very enthusiastic about the Museum.  Shannon was not excited about going there, so it was nice to hear him talk about it.  We walked through Green Park to get to a bus stop, then rode to the South Kensington stop and walked the short distance to the museum.  We downloaded the museum app and are now waiting for my GRSP student from last year and her mother.  When you first enter the museum, there is a gigantic skeleton of a dinosaur and it is incredible.  They call it Dippy the Diplodocus.  The building itself is unbelievably beautiful.  I am thinking we could spend an entire day here.  The line to get in is VERY long.  We were smart to get here early because there were only 2-3 people ahead of us.  Lots of student groups here today.  

We were to meet my Rotary student from last year and her mother for the day, so we waited at the particular entrance that we had agreed upon.  They arrived and it wa so wonderful to see them that none of us could stop smiling.  Her mom was as wonderful as she is.  It was great to go through the museum with them because neither of them had been before.   Katy is studying geography, which we call geology, so she was a wealth of information.  They have wonderful displays of dinosaurs there and an unbelievable exhibition of volcanoes, earthquakes and tsunamis.  We got to experience what it wa like to be in an earthquake.  It wa about 15-20 seconds before I could get my feet under me afterward   It was a little like being swung around a few times — that dizzy feeling.  We saw a moon rock and real dinosaur bones.  As a matter of fact,the building itself was incredibly itself. If we were just there to see the building, it would have  been enough to like. It sort of reminded me of the Opera House in Barcelona.  We finally parted ways about 5:00. We had tickets to see Lion King and needed to get back home to freshen up a little. The day ended up being beautiful, but we decided to take the underground back because of the time of day.  The Picadilly Line was right there, so we didn’t have to even change.  It was so wonderful spending the day with Katy and Alison. It is not often that I actually visit past students in their own countries.  I will have to make a special effort to do that.  Scandinavia is definitely on my list!  I didn’t realize it when I googled it, but the Lion King was playing within a couple of blocks of our flat.  We left a little later than we should, but we got there quickly and got our tickets that we had preordered.  We only had a few minutes for dinner, so we stopped at Bills right around the corner and had an appetizer and for me, a glass of wine, then headed over th the Lyceum Theatre.  The musical was wonderful, the staging was like nothing I had ever seen before.  The singing wa good.  When I went n New York many yearzago, the actors interacted more the the crowd, but it was still fun.  Shannon has fallen right to sleep and uI am not far behind/

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

