Today would be a lazy day, as Sundays should be.  Our guide’s son, Marvick, came by about 8:30AM to take us to the grocery store on a little island just off the coast of our island, Bonacca.  We bought a few provisions for breakfast and lunch, as we planned to go out every night.  We came back to the house and unloaded our provisions and asked Marvick to come back after lunch.  We spent the morning watching the hummingbirds, talking, taking pictures, drinking coffee and generally wasting away the morning.  We ate peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for lunch and called Marvick to pick us up.  We decided I needed water shoes, if we were to snorkel, so we went back to the village, but the store was closed.  We walked around the village to get a sense of it. In away, it was like Venice, with a lot of little canals running through it, but not deep enough for boats except occasionally. Many people spoke to us in English, which seems to be the preferred language here.

We got back into the boat and did a little tour around our part of the island — the southern part of Guanaja (which I learned).  We went over to Graham’s, which very obviously had the most beautiful water and beach with chairs lined up and a lot going on.  We will definitely have to spend one day here, as there appears to be a lot to see.  Then we went back towards our home and past it to a little mangrove area or cut-through to the Northern part of the island.  This area was even less inhabited, but had some beautiful beaches with a lot of jungle close to the beach (ergo – shade).  We came back to the house after picking out our beach and looked at the house that was for sale next door.  We explored a little and took some more pictures and fixed ourselves some cocktails, then decided on dinner at Mi Casa Too.  I had conch fritters and Cindy had fried shrimp.  We tasted both and they were equally good — still too much to eat.  Back at the house to marvel at the hummingbirds.  We quickly found that a 1/2 feeder would not last the day, so I filled it with the rest of the sugar water that I had prepared that morning.  They could barely wait, so while I was hanging it, they came after it.  I stayed right next to it to watch.  The larger birds were more skittish, but soon came to realize I would do them no harm.  The smaller ones were the most fearless.  Earlier to bed tonight and I was asleep within 5 minutes of resting my head on the pillow.

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

2 responses »

  1. DAVID FUNDERBURK says:

    Looks like you and Cindy are having fun. Keep sending your activities.

Leave a Reply

