We began the day as always at 6:15AM having breakfast. We had already put our bags on the bus, so that we could take a tour of the clinic. I will never miss another tour again because I learned something new. I was surprised at the number of clinics in the valley, which I had never raised before. We now have a physical therapist, a dentist (female) and, of course, a doctor and nurses. We loaded the bus and headed out to La Esperanza – a 50 minute bus ride. We arrived at the village and, again, the villagers greeted us with smiles and hugs. They sung a song for us and we sang “The Whole World in his Hands” and “Deep and Wide”. Our team added Campbell, a young man that did not want to stop working. He’d take a shovel from one of the Hondurans and start shoveling. We were to put in a floor in 3 rooms that day. We had 3 Hondurans with us and we were working on a tiny porch, which was mostly covered by sand and cement. With a lot of help from our 2 teenage boys and Franklin, our 22 year old Honduran helper, we were able to nearly finish the 3 rooms before noon. We had a picnic lunch and returned to work at 1:00PM. We passed by our original Pila and they had accomplished quite a lot of that. Mike remarked that they had a door. Hmmmmmm.  I found out later that they were adding a shower to the Pila.  Anyway, we walked on down the road and then turned right down a long dirt road to get to our next project. We knew we would have too many workers. I was put on roofing detail because there were too many on muddling detail. Fortunately, we were not to get on the roof, but only had to hand the tin up to the man on top. I was not needed as we had others that were taller that were able to get it up to the roofer. I tried to do a little mud, but again, there were too many. I was only able to do a little bit. The Hondurans mixed up the mud (yes, real mud) inside the room with lots of dirt and water. They would shovel a load onto a canvas bag and then bring it out to the people outside to put on the wall. The wall was made of their Honduran studs and then bamboo strips on the horizontal. They made their strips by ripping the bamboo with a machete. We left about 3:20PM and then headed back to the Ranch. Many wanted to go to their village that they had worked in for the last 3 years, so a van took them (and me) back there. As we were coming into town, I saw 2 girls running across the field to meet us. It was very heartwarming. I took movies of the children playing and then played it back to them with my IPad. They loved it. We returned about 6:40PM and ate dinner, then took a shower and had our devotional time. All in all, a good day. 

About lynntclarke

I am an attorney by trade, but love to travel. I am in my "golden" years and decided to blog about some of my trips, mainly to keep a diary of my experiences, so that I can do picture books for my travels and remember what I did each day. When you travel, you tend to forget the day before as you are having such wonderful new experiences. The blog will be there forever, I suppose, but memories fade fast. I hope you learn something worthwhile as you read. If not, then that is okay, too. Enjoy your own travels!!!

Leave a Reply

